First Impressions ~ Kamigami no Asobi

Yay! I just finished watching the first episode of Kamigami no Asobi: Ludere Deorum! I also remembered to take screenshots while watching so I won’t have to go back to take them later! \o/ Read on, especially if you want to catch a glimpse of an elusive and rare マホウショウネン!!

Alrighty… It’s been awhile since I’ve actually written one of these First Impressions posts, so I’ve kind of forgotten how this works, lol. (⊃‿⊂) I’ll just have to wing it and figure it out all over again. *sobs* It might also be a bit different this time around since I did remember to take screenshots, so please bear with me!

First off, I must say that I was left a little speechless by this first episode. I have no knowledge of the game whatsoever, besides the fact that it existed and that it’s a reverse harem, so I’m confused as to the background of the story. It didn’t help that the first scene was a bunch of guys fighting for no reason. ( ?´_ゝ`) Anyway, let’s get started!

KUSANAGI Yui

Yui, our sword-wielding heroine with sparkling sweat

The heroine this time is KUSANAGI Yui!  She is a seemingly pretty typical high school girl who happens to like kendo. She lives in a shrine with her parents and two older brothers. The way she styles her hair really makes me think of a miko (shrine maiden). Maybe it has something to do with the fact that she kind of is one? *derp* As I watched the episode, she struck me as being a bit of a dunce and very naïve. And this is slightly off topic, but now that I think about it, the heroine of the last anime I watched was named Yui as well. This isn’t going to get confusing… Not. At. All. -_-‘

The glowing sword - Sword of the Heaven's Gathering Clouds

The glowing sword – Sword of the Heaven’s Gathering Clouds

Shortly after we meet her, she is on her way to do some chores around the shrine (and contemplate her lack of future aspirations) when she suddenly hears a voice call her name. Not creepy at all, right? She then sees a strange light coming from the storehouse, and so she goes to check it out. She finds a strange, glowing sword that mesmerizes her. Little did she know that it would take her somewhere else. Not-so-long story short, she gets transported to what appears to be a school in some magical place. The sword has also conveniently shrunk and is now a pendant that Yui wears as a necklace. Is that important? I’m guessing so, lol.

Hades Aidoneus

Hades Aidoneus

Well, I’ll introduce the rest of the characters in the order that we meet them, so that means it’s Hades next! He seemed like a pretty grumpy guy, even telling Yui to stay away from him because he will bring her misery if she gets close. Ironically, it’s not as if she initiated the conversation, so he could have easily avoided her if he was so concerned about it, but whatever. Hades also mentioned something about a being caught in a “cruel game”, but more about that in a minute. That’s all we see of him, so I don’t really have an opinion of him yet. It’s only been one episode, so that’s not really a big deal right now.

Tsukuyomi or TOTSUKA Tsukito

Tsukuyomi or TOTSUKA Tsukito

Next up is Tsukuyomi or Tsukito. Yui meets him in a random classroom after she follows a rabbit that she quite literally falls over (perhaps from shock?). His facial expression when they introduce him is… I don’t even know how to describe it. D: Something about it isn’t right, though. He doesn’t talk much, but I think it’s mostly due to the fact that he doesn’t care. He really seems like he would have the same facial expression no matter what you told him. Uwah, so far, it’s really hard to get a grasp on the male leads!

Susanoo or TOTSUKA Takeru

Susanoo or TOTSUKA Takeru

While in the middle of “talking” with Tsukuyomi, we meet his brother, Susanoo or Takeru, who was apparently looking for the rabbit. He seems to have two personalties: nice for his brother and pissy for everyone else, lol. Brother complex much? He was even trying to intimidate Yui, which was successful because she thought he was scary and listened when he told her not to follow them as they were leaving. He strikes me as a cranky kid who tries to act like he’s super tough. He may be a bit of a tsundere as well.

Loki Laevatein

Loki Laevatein

She then runs into Loki. He calls her “Koneko-chan” and and acts really sweet and nice with her, at first. As soon as he realizes she doesn’t know where his friend is, he totally brushes her off. I’d wager to say that he is a bit (of a lot) self-centered. When we see him again later, he goes a bit psycho and admits himself that he is mean. He seems to be a prankster, as he goes as far as giving Yui a smoke bomb disguised as a piece of candy.

Baldr Hringhorni

Baldr Hringhorni

Apparently the one Loki was looking for is Baldr (or Balder), whom we meet next. And shockingly, he seems like a decent person! Wow, the first one out of the bunch! He was even willing to hold a proper conversation with the heroine, and let her complete her sentences!! Baldr is quite the gentleman (and a bit of a flirt). He’s really clumsy and seems to fall down a lot, although accidentally falling on top of Yui seemed a bit too convenient to me. >.> He also may or may not have a hand fetish… I’m not quite sure what to think of that. Regardless, I think he’s a nice guy.

Zeus: Mastermind or Master Troll?

Zeus: Mastermind or Master Troll?

The next character we met is not one of the lead males. Instead, he is the one who organized this whole school thing in a separate world, Zeus. He apparently is concerned over the fact that some gods have problems with understanding humanity and love, so he means to educate them, and he needs Yui to help him do it. (This, I’m guessing, is the “cruel game” that Hades mentioned earlier.) Actually, it’s more like she is the one responsible for educating them, and she will be a student of the school right along with them while doing so.

For all their good looks, I wonder if they are hiding their true selves, lol.

For all their good looks, I wonder if they are hiding their true selves, lol.

One thing that was a bit disturbing to me was this scene. All the gods we have met so far are from Greek, Japanese, and Norse mythology. They are also all bishies, but when Zeus explains things to Yui, we see this. So my question is, are we being deceived? Haha, no, but I am surprised that after going to the trouble of making them look the way they do, they still add in how they look according to the myths and legends. Although I guess it makes sense as well, but it’s still a bit disturbing.

A mysterious man, I have no idea who he is

A mysterious man, I have no idea who he is

We also see a Mystery Man character after Yui storms out on Zeus. I have no idea who he is, but I probably would if I had played the game. I’m assuming we will be seeing more of him later on. Anyway, I see that they didn’t miss out on a megane character, lol. He also has some pretty impressive eyeliner. He has doubts about Yui being able to fulfill her role, but it’s not as if his suspicions are unfounded; she did declare that she wouldn’t be able to. I wonder what kind of role he will have as the series progress.

Apollon Agana Belea

Apollon Agana Belea

The last god (and male lead) that we meet is Apollon. He reveals to us that Yui is the Human Representative of the school. He is incredibly (and almost overbearingly) polite and friendly with Yui. In fact, I find it quite suspicious. He’s very touchy-feely with her and even grabs her hand again after she tells him he’s too close and removes her hand from his. I don’t know, he’s like the ideal prince type, but I have a feeling there is something else to it. I also have a feeling that he is going to the one she ends up with in the end (especially after what happened in the beginning). He’s also a bit too quick on the draw, since it seems like he’s going to kiss her at the end. Even though we don’t know what happened (in this episode), I don’t think he will actually kiss her. At least I hope not. I mean I hope not yet, haha, not until I know more~!

Setting the story aside now, I really like the seiyuu. Excellent casting (do I always say that?).  And since I gushed about liking the artist for the character design before, I won’t go too much into the art now, lol. It looks pretty good so far. The animation looks nice as well. I actually thought some of it looked really nice, like the way Yui moved her arms to emphasize to Zeus that he didn’t need to summon thunder, lol. As for the music… well, the music didn’t seem to leave that much of an impression on me. There was no opening theme this time, so I don’t know about that, but the ending theme was alright. Maybe I will like it more if I listen to it more. I don’t know, we’ll have to see. Also, what was up with all the golden apples in the ending? Is there something I’m missing out on? Something that will be explained later? Anyway, there was some manservice in there, so I’ll share for those who may have missed it (although to be honest, I don’t know how that could happen, lol). So here you go:

Manservice!

Manservice!

One last thing. I found it totally hilarious that there was a surprise emergence of a Magical Girl Boy (right in the beginning, too)! How rare! I was so amazed (read amused) that I even compiled the 16-step transformation for all to see! Seriously though, I couldn’t stop laughing when his buttons starting popping open with a magical golden light! ^^

Magical Boy

Transformation of the Magical Boy or マホウショウネン

That’s all I’ve got to say about this anime right now. I’m looking forward to the progression of the story. I hope it doesn’t go off on a weird tangent.

I’d love to hear your thoughts about KamiAso, so don’t forget to leave a comment below!

Until next time,

ChibiChin.  (ノ◕◡◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Leave a Comment

