Quick Picks #1

Welcome to a new series of posts called “Quick Picks”!

My goal with this is to introduce some shorter series, whether manga or anime, I’ve recently discovered that I think are worth sharing and that I recommend! I’ll give a little introduction and review of each series in these posts as well. I came up with this idea so that I could have a place to talk about smaller series without having bunches of tiny, one paragraph posts. When I’ve found a few to talk about, I will write another post, so they’ll probably be sporadic. On occasion, I’ll mention longer series I’ve started that I’m excited about (and plan on reviewing later), but just want to mention right away, so keep an eye out for those, too! Anyway, let’s get straight to the first ever Quick Picks! \o/

Fugitto Amor - CFThe first title I’m going to talk about is a brand new, and very short, oneshot called “Fugitto Amor” by SHIINA Dai. (I recommend you read it directly from Crimson Flower’s website, here.) It’s a really beautiful love story that’s pretty unique. Without giving too much away (which would be very easy to do, considering it’s only 14 pages), it’s about a rose garden that links two people together. The plot was very well thought out and it really grasped me. The way it depicts love is very heartwarming with just a touch of sadness. I keep rereading it! ^^ The art was very nice as well; it’s detailed, but not overly so. This is the first story I’ve read by this mangaka, but I think I’m going to go looking for more! 😀

The Legend of GenghisNext up is another oneshot, but this time it’s a manhua. It’s “The Legend of Genghis” with the story by Dai Qing Xian and the art by WEN Ri Liang. It came out last year, but it seems to be very unknown. It’s a story about a hero who is asked to kill the new demon king by a princess. He agrees to do it, but there’s a catch. I’m not going to say what it is though~! Mwahahahaha! I really liked the plot; it took a twist in the beginning and it just got more interesting as I kept reading. The hero and his disciple were intriguing characters. The art was very enjoyable and nice to look at. It was rich in detail and was gorgeous at times. An awesome bonus about this oneshot is that the whole thing is in full color! More was supposed to be written, but had to be cut due to space limits, but I hope the story will get to be “completed” one day! Although, I like it just as it is, too!

Hotarubi no Mori eThe last one on the list for today is actually in two formats. The first being the manga and the second being the short anime movie based on the manga! The series is “Hotarubi no Mori e” by MIDORIKAWA Yuki. The manga is actually a collection of four oneshots, but I’m focusing on the the second one, which also lends its name as the title of the volume. It is a wistful and beautiful story about a young girl who encounters a boy, whom she can’t touch, in a forest said to be full of spirits and monsters. I love the simplistic beauty of the art and I feel like it adds to the story in some way. I actually cried a bit at the end and my heart ached, but the story is soooo good! I really like that the movie feels like an extension of the manga; it added a few details that it accentuated certain parts of the manga. It was very well done.

Anyways, I hope you’ll give these series a chance! Up next will be my review of Free!, so look forward to that!

Comment below and tell me if you want to see more of these in the future!

Until next time,

ChibiChin.  (ノ◕◡◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Leave a Comment

