First Impressions ~ Diabolik Lovers

Well, well, well. The fall anime season is already upon us, even though there are still summer series that haven’t completed yet! ^^ Since I have just finished watching the first episode of Diabolik Lovers, I decided to waste no time and write about it! Here I go!

Hahahahaha…haha…ha…ugh. Oh my, where do I start? I guess I’ll start where I usually do, with a little synopsis.

KOMORI Yui

KOMORI Yui

KOMORI Yui is the heroine of the story and seems to be quite gentle. She is told that she will be moving into a new house by her father before the start of the episode and is on her way there when we first meet her. After arriving, she learns that her new residence is the home of the six SAKAMAKI brothers, who are all vampires. She also discovers that she is to be the bride to one of them, although she is unhappy about it. It seems like it will be a terrifying courtship, to say the least.

Each episode is only 15 minutes long. At first I was thinking that it would be too short, but after finishing the episode, I think it’s more than enough. I was seriously hoping this could be something I could laugh at, but after actually seeing it, I’m not so sure. *sighs* Anyway, onto the review! Warning: ranting, odd nicknames, and vulgar language may ensue. ^^

Subaru

Subaru

I’ll start with the youngest Diabolik Lover Hater, Subaru (16). This kid has some major anger/violence issues. Upon first meeting Yui, he punches a hole in the wall. o_O He later hits a bookcase, causing books to fall on top of her, just because she attempts to stick up for herself. He also seems to be disagreeable with everyone, especially his brothers. I really don’t see any appeal in his character. He thinks he is more of a tough guy than he actually is because, you know, hitting randoms objects makes you such a bad-ass… *rolls eyes*

Ayato

Ayato

Next up is the youngest of the triplets, Ayato, the Diabolik Lover Wanker (17). He refers to himself as “oresama”, much to everyone’s chagrin. He licks Yui’s neck after stealing her cell phone, and dubs her “Chichinashi” because she is flat-chested. Awww… isn’t that endearing? *gags* Also, what is up with his pant leg? (Haha, pun not intended.) He has one pant leg of his uniform rolled up to his knee. I just don’t understand the point of that, but whatever. His is another character I don’t like. I only see him as a cocky bastard.

Kanato

Kanato

Kanato is the middle triplet and the Diabolik Lover Creeper (17). Seriously, someone get this kid some make-up remover, or let him get some sleep. I mean, why does he have those black smudges under his eyes?? It actually creeps me out. Anyways, again, he’s a character I find completely unlikeable. He seems like he’s going to be super whiny and clingy, but then will act like he doesn’t need Yui and will treat her like crap (after all, he says she is his “prey”). He is also a licker, and agrees with Raito when he says that she “smells sweet”. He carts around a strange teddy bear.

Raito

Raito

The Diabolik Lover Loser is Raito (17), who is the oldest triplet. Like Ayato, he gives Yui a nickname, and acts like it’s the sweetest thing in the world. He calls her “Bitch-chan”. Sadly, I’m not joking. -_- He is the second brother to lick her, and is very touchy-feely. He seems to think that he is the hottest stuff out there and is every woman’s dream. *gags again* If you haven’t guess it already, yeah, I’m not so fond of him either.

Reiji

Reiji

The next Diabolik Lover Bastard is Reiji, the second oldest (18). He comes off as being rather cold and stuck-up. He seems to be responsible for managing everything, and he even comments that he “wasn’t informed” that Yui was coming to stay with them. He comments a lot about her manners and calls her rude because she is trying to get away from them. Heck, I would be running too if I found myself in her shoes. He might not be the worst choice out of them (or maybe he is, I don’t know), but I don’t like his haughty attitude.

Shuu

Shuu

And last is the oldest son, the Diabolik Lover Slacker, Shuu (19). Actually, he doesn’t seem all that bad, especially when you compare him to the five others. He might even turn into a character that I will like. *shock* He is lazy and very disinterested in everything, including the heroine. He is so disinterested, in fact, that he doesn’t even mention that Yui will be arriving to his brothers beforehand. Right as she attempts to leave, Shuu tells everyone that “he” (I’m assuming Yui’s dad) contacted him and said they should treat her nicely and that they can’t kill her.

Despite how much I dislike most of the characters (it should be called Diabolik Wifebeaters instead), the art was very nice and the voice acting was excellent. As I stated in an earlier post, I’m a fan of most of the seiyuu in this anime. I really don’t understand how we, as viewers, are supposed to find these guys attractive or sexy. There were no ‘kyaaa~’ or ‘ufufufu~’ moments for me and I was pretty disturbed for the majority of those 15 minutes. It almost felt like I was watching just because I liked the seiyuu. щ(ಠ益ಠщ) And what was it with all the licking!?!? It kind of grossed me out. Well, I hope it gets better, but I’m not going to hold my breath, lol. If you watched it, leave a comment below and let me know what you thought! ^^

Until next time,

ChibiChin.  (ノ◕◡◕)ノ*:・゚✧

2 thoughts on “First Impressions ~ Diabolik Lovers

  1. Semienigma

    Ah ha! Someone less watched this and got pretty much the same vibe. XD I feel sorry for the girl and hope she doesn’t get Stockholm syndrome! I liked the look but most of the characters creeped me out except Shuu…He isn’t creepy, just lazy as crap it seems.

    Reply
  2. oujotaku Post author

    Really? Hahaha, that’s funny! ^^ I’m really not understanding the lure of these guys so far. Oh, I fully expect her to get Stockholm Syndrome. Otherwise, this reverse harem wouldn’t work because she would hate all of them, lol. I’m holding onto hope for Shuu, as he seems the most sane and normal, but you never know, the “normal” looking ones can turn out to be the creepiest of them all, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

