First Impressions ~ Makai Ouji

Sorry for the delay! I meant to post this a few days ago, but I didn’t get to! Sorry about that! Today I’m wrapping up the “First Impressions” trilogy! The star of the finale is Makai Ouji: Devils and Realist!

Hmmm… what to say. I started this series after only reading the title and seeing the “poster” for this anime. In other words, I knew absolutely nothing about it. Honestly, I’m still somewhat confused, so I have no idea where this will go, but let’s find out anyways!

Characters from Makai Ouji

Characters from Makai Ouji

William Twining is a member of the aristocracy and a highly intellectual young man. When his school informs him that the tuition has not been paid (and that he’ll have to leave the school if it remains unpaid), William freaks out and heads back to his family home to find out what happened. It turns out that through a failed business attempt by his uncle, William has lost all of his family’s possessions. While searching the house for anything of value with the only remaining servant, a butler named Kevin Cecil, they come across a secret room in the basement. Inside the room is a magical girl seal that is connected to the demon realm. William unknowingly activates the seal and comes face to face with the demon Dantalion, who calls William the descendant of Solomon and informs him that he is the Elector, or the human who chooses the next ruling demon of Hell. Let’s just say that William doesn’t take this news too well and thinks Dantalion is a crazy “cosplay buffoon” (in his own words), lol.

My first impression of Makai Ouji is that it’s like a mix between Kuroshitsuji (BL undertones included), Hakushaku to Yousei (with the butler and setting), and something else that I can’t quite place my finger on. I kept thinking about that throughout the first episode. If done right, this “combination” could be very interesting, but I do hope that it gets a bit more original and finds its own story.

The production quality is pretty good and the story is mildly interesting (remember, I know nothing about this series and I’ve only watched one episode, so no offense to anyone who really likes this series), but I’m not sure it will be enough to keep me watching. Nothing really stood out for me and while I do remember the main points of the episode, I don’t really remember anything else. The music wasn’t particularly catchy either. I did like Baphomet, the goat bulter of Dantalion, though. He was pretty funny, even though he didn’t really say anything funny. If that even makes any sense…

The voice acting was really good though. No voice was awkward or didn’t match the character. Ironically enough, TORIUMI Kousuke also voices a character in this series as Gilles de Rais. If you recall from my other posts, he voices a character in Brothers Conflict (from this season) and was in Uta☆Pri Maji Love 2000% (from the Spring 2013 season). I’m not complaining though, I quite like him. ^.^ There are also quite a few other seiyuu I like in this series, so that is one nice thing about Makai Ouji!

Well, honestly, I really don’t have anything else to say about it… If you haven’t already noticed, I’m still unsure if I will actually continue with this series or not. I’ll probably give it at least two more episodes before I make my final decision, so hopefully it’ll get better. If not, well, there’s not much I can do about that.

Until next time,

ChibiChin.  (ノ◕◡◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Leave a Comment

